[Tree] MP5 vs Spirit for Sustained HPS

Topics: Rawr.Tree
Jul 12, 2009 at 9:59 PM
Edited Jul 12, 2009 at 10:01 PM

I am a new user and am just getting to know rawr so apologies in advance...I am wondering about gear rankings for my priest.  I am running rawr as a raid healing Holy Priest and am confused as to some of the recommendations.  For instance, I have 4 capes: Shawl of the Caretaker, Drape of the Spellweaver, Disguise of Kumiho, and Cloak of Kea Feathers.  In terms of sustained HPS they are ranked in this order: 1) Disguise of K, Cloak of Kea, Drape of the SW, and last is Shawl of the C.  I would have thought that the two cloaks with MP5 would come before the two w/o.  Can someone explain the logic?  I apologize in advance if this is a "noob" or "stupid" question.

I would add that I am a C# programmer who has a Elemental Shaman...saw in the issues you may be looking for help there...

Kind regards, Firethaurn

Developer
Jul 12, 2009 at 10:17 PM

Its hard to give you an exact answer without knowing your entire Rawr configuration, but the following things may decide it:

-  Spirit also gives extra spellpower as holy. This increases your healing / mana, giving more Sustained HPS.

- Depending on how much time you spend outside FSR, Spirit increases in value. At higher gear levels, Spirit is better than MP5 nearly no matter what, atleast until 3.2.

-  Intellect increases your Sustained HPS a lot depending on your configuration.

Jul 12, 2009 at 10:38 PM
Edited Jul 12, 2009 at 10:50 PM

Thanks for the quick reply!!!