What is standing in the way of PvP models?

Topics: Off-Topic
Jul 18, 2009 at 6:21 PM
Edited Jul 18, 2009 at 6:25 PM

Seriously, what is standing in the way of some limited PvP modelling in Rawr?

I know. PvP is an abomonation. However I'm a feral tank, and Rawr does indicate that, pre Ulduar, lots of th eHateful and Deadly gladiator items are worthy upgrades. And to get them, all you need is Honor, and to get that, being at least slightly competent in Wintergrasp or battlegrounds IS called for. And the Wintergrasp quests being weeklies does make them easy to tolerate.

Anyway, as a result I really would like the option in Rawr to see the effects of resiliance vs a PvP target. Both in terms of my mitigation from resil in PvP and in terms of my decreased dps vs a target that has resiliance.

While I am a programmer, Im an old school c++ guy, so C# really isn't my thing :/ so I can't contribute myself.

Coordinator
Jul 18, 2009 at 6:49 PM

What is standing in the way of PvP models? The fact that PvP isn't modelable.

Jul 18, 2009 at 7:05 PM

That makes no sense. How is it not modelable? I cant imagine any argument that doesnt count just as much for PvE really.

The point is not to try and model the too and fro of a PvP battle. The point is to model the expected dps vs a ... a... PvP version of a combat dummy. The only difficulty I can see is the building of the reference PvP 'opponent' to run the models against. So you just make up a mytical class that does a mix of melee and spell damage, and put some fields in the options tab where the specific numbers can be played with - where, at the moment, the targets level and armor can be plugged in.

Jul 18, 2009 at 10:17 PM

I'd say it makes perfect sense. PvE mobs follow strict rules. Mob level armour, chance to crit, miss, dodge, parry, etc.