@ ProtPally/War, Bear contributors

Topics: Rawr.Base, Rawr.Bear, Rawr.ProtPaladin, Rawr.ProtWarr, Rawr.TankDK
Aug 3, 2009 at 11:49 PM

Hopefully someone who works on these modules is around. I'm starting up a Tank related project, and I'd love to give my users the ability to load their stats/etc in from a Rawr profile. The DKTank module saves all kinds of goodies (Armor, Health, Parry/Dodge Rating and %, Miss %) but none of the other Tank modules do this. Presumably they just let Rawr do all the recalculating when the profile is loaded.

I wonder if it'd be possible to have someone update the Prot Paladin/Warrior and Druid Bear modules to save the same information (including Block %/Value for Pally/War) in the character files. I'm a relatively experienced C# programmer and I'd even be willing to do the work myself. What I don't have any experience with, however, is source control or collaborative projects. If no one wants to actually do the updates themselves, I would be happy to take it on if someone can give me a bit of direction on how the rest of it all goes.

Thanks a bunch! :D

Developer
Aug 4, 2009 at 12:45 AM

Exactly what kind of project are you starting that Rawr cannot do?

Aug 4, 2009 at 2:44 AM

Basically, SimulationCraft for tanks. Recently some discussion has come up that makes me think there is a need for such a thing that I can fill. I've seen a number of "simulators" in my travels, but none of them have the depth or detail that I'm looking to create.

Coordinator
Aug 4, 2009 at 3:19 AM

In what way do you see the DKTank model saving armor/health/parry/dodge/etc? It really shouldn't; and we don't want others to do as well, if it does. Can you clarify what more you're aiming to do, that Rawr doesn't already do? If you're a C# dev, why start another project at all?

Aug 4, 2009 at 3:52 AM

If you go to File-Save As under the DKTank model and open the resulting XML file in Notepad, you will find a section that contains the following: