ProtWarr: Question about cooldowns.

Topics: Rawr.ProtWarr
Mar 23, 2010 at 6:04 PM
Edited Mar 23, 2010 at 6:13 PM

I've been using ProtWarr for several months now, and I've always wondered: why are Shield Block and Shield Wall not modeled?

I would think it would be important to consider that

damage could be avoided through the use of Shield Block alone, and all damage throughout a fight can be reduced by a factor of

through the use of Shield Wall. This kind of modeling could give value to talents and bonuses that affect these abilities. What is the reason for leaving them out completely?

I can understand Last Stand/Enraged Regen being left out, since those are a little weird and depend on healing too.

Mar 24, 2010 at 6:37 PM

Shield Block may be integrated at some point, although its value can swing wildly based on hard or soft-caps on damage dealt.

Shield Wall is unlikely to ever be averaged in. It just doesn't make sense. It is never used on every cooldown as a way to reduce your total damage taken--it is used when you drop low or when you know a specific burst damage source is incoming. Averaging it would simply throw off other calculations by modeling a passive damage reduction that doesn't exist in that sense in realistic raid scenarios. The same goes for Last Stand, as averaging it as health over X period of time would simply throw off calculations which rely on your health pool.

I will investigate Shield Block again, as it's been on my to-do list and is used in a more cyclic fashion.

Mar 24, 2010 at 7:26 PM

That's what I figured, and it makes sense. Nice to get some clarification. :) Shield Block modeling would still be really cool though if you can get some time to work on it. Maybe with a checkbox to disable it if you want a more "worst case" scenario.