Retribution Development - Starting

Topics: Rawr.Retribution
Developer
Feb 21, 2011 at 9:29 AM

Hey everyone,

I'll be the new retribution developer and I'd like to introduce myself very shortly.

I'm currently 20 years old and I work as a software developer in Switzerland. I do not have big knowledge of C# and silverlight, but as I develop in delphi I think with my basic knowledge of C# and my knowledge in delphi it will work =)

First I'll update the model with the new attacks and spells.

Then the combat model.

Concerning the combat model I do have some questions:

The Dmgnumber of each ability is easy to calculate but there are some problems which i'm not sure how to handle.

Basicly there are 2 problems:

Inq has a uptime which increases the dmgnumber and won't have 100% uptime. So how to calculate?

Exo has a trigger on normal attacks which prevents other attacks to be casted due to the higher priority.

I know simulations are very random sometimes and also slow. But I don't see any other solution at the moment.

I didn't have a close look at the other models, maybe an experienced user or developer can help me here with an good input?

Cheers,

Caromina

Developer
Feb 21, 2011 at 5:23 PM

Use the SpecialEffect class to calculate uptimes and procs, don't put any form of Sim into Rawr.

Feb 22, 2011 at 7:49 PM

Welcome Caromina!

Feb 24, 2011 at 4:09 PM

Welcome Caromina and best of luck! 

I am in no way a programmer, but I would say that you could incorporate Inquisition into the calculations by including a 'slider' somewhere in the Ret model? 

I know in the previous downloadable versions of Rawr there were various skills and abilities where the user had a sliding scale (from 0 to 100%) to play around with to set the uptime of that skill or ability.  Hopefully someone with a better memory than I can come up with a concrete example.....

Developer
Feb 24, 2011 at 10:00 PM