Source item categorization?

Topics: Rawr.Base.ItemFilters
Apr 19, 2009 at 3:35 PM
When looking for that "next" best piece of gear, sure would be nice to have a visual identifier in your comparisons list.   You know, is this from a quest, profession, etc.  I do see the categoraization in the filters, but you have to diddle with it every time...  Now, I could just not be seeing it in the interface, I am relatively new to rawr.  One of my previous preferred gear tools, maxdps, uses an incredibly intuitive categorization on their gear, you can tell at a glance as you look down the items list whether the gear is a drop from H OK or pvp or a quest...
Coordinator
Apr 19, 2009 at 6:34 PM
It's in the tooltip of the items, "Drops from Patchwerk, in Heroic Naxxramas" for example.
Apr 20, 2009 at 4:56 AM
I agree with this one... I wouldn't consider a tool tip "intuitive" :)  It seems a shame to waste all this screen space on the horizontal bars... you could cut that to 50% and still get the point across, and use that additonal space for other info.  Of course you'd have to build a source text parser, which we've talked about before.
Apr 20, 2009 at 6:37 PM
Edited Apr 20, 2009 at 6:40 PM
Would be really helpful for me if there was a feature that would allow me to select the boss we're fighting and it would automatically run the "Build Upgrade List" function and filter out drops only from that boss.

Also, all the 3.1 drops say "Location Unknown." Any idea when that will be updated?
Apr 20, 2009 at 11:34 PM
Like many users of Rawr, my introduction to gear lists was MaxDPS. I really liked how the site made it easy to figure out what you wanted and how to get it. I haven't been back to MaxDPS in a very long time, but I often find myself missing the ability to easily visually distinguish between item sources.