What does Rawr's "score" actually mean?

Topics: Off-Topic
Sep 13, 2009 at 11:06 PM

I'm new to Rawr (awsome!) and it's obvious that an item with a higher numerical score is better than one below it.  But, looking at the Comparison's window for example, is an item with a score of 160 twice as good as an item with a score of 80?

Or, if my current item has a score of 75, is is worth the time/badges, etc. to upgrade to an item with an 85 score, or wait until I get a drop or enough emblems to go for an item with a score of 95?

That's what I'm trying to get a feel for -- how MUCH of a difference does some increment of the score actually mean?

Thanks.

Developer
Sep 13, 2009 at 11:22 PM
Edited Sep 13, 2009 at 11:25 PM

The score can mean any number of things and it depends entirely on the model. For a healing model, the score could be in terms of Total Heals per Second (HPS) so a score of 95 for that item means that it is contributing 95 HPS to your score as opposed to a lesser item giving 65 HPS. If you currently have the item with a score of 65 equipped and you were to replace it with the item that had 95, you gained 30 HPS total.

As far as checking one item over the other for Badges, I find it's best to make a cost per gain analysis on all the Badge Items.

Cost Item Name Slot Pt Dif (Up List) Cost Per Pt Dif Pt Dif (Direct) Cost Per Pt Dif Avg the Costs per
50 Banner of Victory Trinket 57.29 0.873 57.29 0.873 0.873
35 Dexterous Brightstone Ring Finger 35.23 0.993 45.43 0.770 0.882
25 Crimson Arc Throwing Stars/Crimson Star Ranged 14.80 1.689 16.78 1.490 1.590
35 Bloodshed Band Finger 31.66 1.105 15.62 2.241 1.673