Death Knight tank

Topics: Rawr.TankDK
Feb 1, 2010 at 9:25 AM

I am completely new to DK system, so I d like to ask something.... Didn t find any simillar discusion.

Death Knights in RAWR seems to be designed only for Stamina gems and items. Even if you are under Defence Capacity, it says that it s much better to get +24 stamina (blue) gem then for example +12 stamina +8 dodge (purple = red, right one to the socket), which would mean you will get +6 stamina per socket bonus and gain +18 stamina +8 dodge vs +24 stamina.

Thep oint is, is this correct ? Are DKs just mana pits, with 60k hp where you get hit with every second hit for 30 ? (Just example)

Why isn t mittigation (parry, dodge...) above survival (stamina...) ?

Feb 1, 2010 at 4:12 PM

On some level, this is true, DKs feel "squishier" than our shield-bearing brethren.  I have heard this from all of my healers, even when comparing with similarly or slightly less geared Pally tanks in my guild.  That's not to say that STA is the end-all-be-all.  The default formula's that I'm using do not mathematically work out defense as being required before going on.  So in order to gear that way, you want to enter in the optimizer: "% Chance to be Crit <= 0" as a secondary option.  Also I would like you to look at the mouse-over tool tips for different scores: Survival, Mitigation, and Threat. 

Survival speaks to you should have "enough" of this so that you don't die too quickly.  Generally this is how much unmitigated damage you could take before dying.